In 2010 officials of the PGAs of Belgium, Holland and Luxemburg agreed to organise an annual 36 holes tournament, with Royal Limburg Golf Club as traditional host.  Professionals of the three countries would then be able to meet and compete for the €2.500 first prize.

Actually, it was the intention of the initiators to form the PGA Benelux and work a lot closer together.  Unfortunately, the PGA of GB&I, who own the name rights of "PGA", did not approve the new name and so it turned out that a collaboration would be maintained under the current individual names.

Especially Belgium and Holland have a long history of playing each other in matches.  Already since the 1920's, contacts were held, and matches played until 1994.  Financial troubles put a stop to the matches that were brought back to life in 2007 by both CEO's Bernard De Bruyckere and Frank Kirsten.  This was the base for the new Benelux PGA Trophy that will see its 12th edition in 2022 (2020 was not played due to Covid).